The crane (French: la grue), the heraldic animal of the Counts of Greyerz, today adorns the coat of arms of the Municipality of Saanen, to which Gstaad also belongs. It is one of the most prominent indicators of the region's historical roots, which remain astonishingly vibrant to this day.
coat of arms of Saanen
The county of Greyerz is an important dominion, extending from the source of the river Saane at the Sanetsch Pass to the present-day Lac de la Gruyère in the region defined by Broc and La Tour-de-Trême. It also includes the Jauntal valley.
The county becomes part of the suzerainty of Peter II of Savoy.
The under-age Anton becomes Count of Greyerz. The Savoyards appoint an administrator who is against renewing the agreements governing the rights of the towns. In response Bern destroys the castles in the Saanenland and in the Pays-d'Enhaut.
The territory comes back to the county of Greyerz. The Counts' lavish lifestyle results in financial constraints. Various lands have to be sold off.
9 November 1554:
The county's bankruptcy is notified at the confederate hearing in Baden. The creditors share the spoils. The Saanenland and the Pays-d'Enhaut ultimately go to Bern.
Details of the regional history can be found in the Historisches Lexikon der Schweiz (Historical Dictionary of Switzerland).